2012 Gold Star Award Nominees


Each year the Highline Schools Foundation solicits nominations from community members, District employees and parents for its prestigious and much-anticipated Gold Star Awards. This year’s list of impressive and well-deserving nominees includes highly qualified staff, volunteers and administrators.

The Gold Star Award WINNERS will be announced live next Thursday, March 22nd, at the first annual Gold Star Awards BASH. The Foundation has created this event as a low-cost way for parents, teachers and community members to participate in Gold Star and celebrate all of the notable people who do such important, great work in Highline Public Schools.

Outstanding Administrator

  • Catherine Carbone Rogers, Director of Communication & Community Relations
  • Loren Demeroutis, Co-Principal, Big Picture High School
  • Aimee Denver, Coordinator of Health & Social Services
  • Bernard Koontz, Language & Cultural Arts Coordinator
  • Terri McMahan, Director ofAthletics
  • Bernadette Merikle, Equity & Family Partnerships Director
  • Alan Spicciati, Interim Superintendent
  • Don Waring, Executive Director of Human Resources

Outstanding Classified or Professional Support Staff

  • Scott Albright, Facilities
  • Ron Crum, Transportation
  • Jill Cummins, Midway Elementary School
  • Kathi Dewey, Pacific Middle School
  • Carol Diefenbach, Mount Rainier High School
  • Laura Elliott, Mount Rainier High School
  • Tom English, ERAC
  • Jennifer Fichamba, Evergreen Campus
  • Carey Gannaw, T.E.C. High School
  • Cindy Gilbert, Health Sciences & Human Services High School
  • Jack Kerns, Commissary/Warehouse
  • Emily Manalisay, Chinook Middle School
  • Alberto Mendoza, Chinook Middle School
  • Lita O’Donnell, Family Center
  • Janell Olson, Marvista Elementary School
  • Jennifer Olson, Highline High School
  • Angelica Ponce, White Center Heights Elementary School
  • Barb Rodgers, Health Science & Human Services High School
  • Sissy Stanton, Big Picture High School
  • Jeanne Stratton, Bow Lake Elementary School
  • Patsy Trujillo, Pacific Middle School
  • Dawna Turk, McMicken Heights Elementary School
  • Tracy Yorker, Pacific Middle School

Outstanding Teacher

  • Casey Alexander, New Start High School
  • Andrea Bernardoni, Midway Elementary School
  • Ginnie Brossard, Marvista Elementary School
  • Chinook Math Department: Jennifer Combs; Gil Parsons; Linn Grosvenor; Gena Poling; Holly Sullivan; Jennifer Bathelt; Keff Conor; Donelle Giese; Tyler Svenson; Beth Solan; Margaret Ward; Rita Miller; Tonni Best
  • Darci Downs, Midway Elementary School
  • Denise Gardner-Young, Marvista Elementary School
  • Vicki L. Hagen, Marvista Elementary School
  • Dale Lautenschlager, Sylvester Middle School
  • Shawna Moore, Sylvester Middle School
  • Marianne Shibly, Gregory Heights Elementary
  • Darcy Smith, McMicken Heights Elementary School
  • Eric Soran, Valley View Early Learning Center
  • Colleen Thomas-Reitsma, North Hill Elementary

Outstanding Volunteer

  • Kay Duncanson, Pacific Middle School
  • Kristi Jacobi, North Hill Elementary
  • Dan Johnson, Marvista Elementary School
  • Dan & Cindy Johnson, Marvista Elementary School
  • Astha Tada, Cascade Middle School
  • Debbie Thoma, Cedarhurst Elementary School
  • Barbara Tobin, North Hill Elementary School

Event Details:2012 Gold Star Awards Bash

Gold Star Awards BASH
Thursday, March 22nd
6:30-8:30 p.m.
The Production Shop (a new event space in Burien)
14624 – 9th Avenue (one block east of Burien Walgreens)

Tickets are $15 and include appetizers, drinks, music and celebration at this fun event unveiling the winners of the 2012 Gold Star Awards!  21 and over, please.

Tickets are on sale now

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,