2013 Gold Star Award Nominations

And the Nominees Are

Each year the Highline Schools Foundation solicits nominations from community members, District employees and parents for its prestigious and much-anticipated Gold Star Awards. This year’s list of impressive and well-deserving nominees includes highly qualified staff, volunteers and administrators.

Hands in for HighlineThe Gold Star Award WINNERS will be announced live next Thursday, March 21st at the second annual Gold Star Awards BASH. Created in 2012, this red-carpet style event (21 and over) features a night of music, drinks, appetizers, dancing and a LIVE announcement of the Gold Star Award winners.


Outstanding Administrator Nominees

  • Mark Demick, Principal, Chinook Middle School
  • Diana Garcia, Principal, Cascade Middle School
  • Deborah Holcomb, Principal, Southern Heights Elementary School
  • Karin Jones, Principal, McMicken Heights Elementary School
  • Robin Lamoureux, Principal, Parkside Elementary School
  • Chris Larsen, Principal, Seahurst Elementary School
  • Colin Ryan, Principal, Shorewood Elementary Principal
  • Dr. Sue Shields, Principal/Director, Puget Sound Skills Center
  • Susan Smith Leland, Assistant Superintendent
  • Donald Waring, HR Executive Director

Outstanding Classified or Professional Support Staff Nominees

  • Rebecca Androes, Valley View ELC
  • Michelle Baus, Bow Lake Elementary School
  • Kim Goehring, Marvista Elementary School
  • Stacie Grage, North Hill Elementary & Seahurst Elementary Schools
  • Maria Hanson, Bow Lake Elementary School
  • Theda Hiranaka, Aviation High School
  • Jack Kearns, Warehouse/Commissary
  • Dave Larsen, Parkside Elementary School
  • Susan Marrs, Southern Heights Elementary School
  • Julian McCullough, Cascade Middle School
  • Carl Nord, Chinook Middle School
  • Mani Sanga, Marvista Elementary School
  • Sheri Sutliff, Chinook Middle School
  • Debra Thoma, Cedarhurst Elementary School
  • Patsy Trujillo, Pacific Middle School
  • Cathy Ureste, Cascade Middle School
  • Tonya Ward, Cedarhurst Elementary School
  • Sherry Wolf, Big Picture High School
  • Frances Zuniga, McMicken Heights Elementary School

Outstanding Teacher Nominees

  • Valerie Anderson, Global Connections High School
  • Lana Baroudi, Bow Lake Elementary School
  • Penny Bellemans, Cedarhurst Elementary School
  • Debbie Bowman, Arts & Academics Academy
  • Christy Bowman-White, Sylvester Middle School
  • Sarah Bracken, Highline High School
  • Chris Calvin, Mount Rainier High School
  • Jamie Clawson, Beverly Park Elementary School
  • Thara Cooper, McMicken Heights Elementary School
  • Linda Drahn, McMicken Heights Elementary School
  • Catherine Dwyer, North Hill Elementary School
  • Grace Friedman, Shorewood Elementary School
  • John Garibaldi, Cedarhurst Elementary School
  • Kirsten Gunn, Highline High School
  • Anne Jones, Hazel Valley Elementary School
  • Jill Klune, Global Connections High School
  • Anna Kramer, Cascade Middle School
  • Stacie Latimer, Marvista Elementary School
  • Jenny Lin, Shorewood Elementary School
  • Elizabeth (Betsy) Milleson, Cascade Middle School
  • Shawna Moore, Sylvester Middle School
  • Tia Nguyen, Midway Elementary School
  • Carrie O’Brien, Health Sciences and Human Services High
  • Kevin Plough, Cedarhurst Elementary School
  • Julia Roberts, Des Moines Elementary School
  • Rattana Sochenda, Technology, Engineering & Communications High School
  • Jeffrey Steen, Pacific Middle School
  • Meghan Stewart, Cedarhurst Elementary School
  • JoAnne Thaves, McMicken Heights Elementary School
  • Claire Waistell, Sylvester Middle School
  • Elizabeth Weets, Highline High School
  • Caitlin Wirtz, Sylvester Middle School

Outstanding Volunteer Nominees

  • Misty Erickson, North Hill Elementary School
  • Darin Gee, Highline High School
  • Sheri Healey, Mount Rainier HS, Pacific & Marvista
  • Berta Keller, Gregory Heights Elementary School
  • Fred Lueck, Highline High School
  • Barbara Nelson, McMicken Heights Elementary School
  • Leslee Van, McMicken Heights Elementary School


Winners will be announced at the Gold Star Awards BASH on Thursday, March 21st, 2013 and will be honored at the Highline Schools Foundation’s Gold Star Awards Breakfast on Friday, April 19, 2013.

Please come help us celebrate the outstanding Teachers, Volunteers, Alumni, Staff and Administrators of Highline Public Schools at our district’s version of the Academy Awards!

Gold Sta Awards BASH

Event Details: Gold Star Awards BASH
Thursday, March 21, 2013
6:30 – 8:30 pm
The Production Shop, 14624 – 9th Avenue SW, Burien

Tickets are on sale now – tickets are $15 and include appetizers, drinks, music and celebration at this fun event unveiling the winners of the 2013 Gold Star Awards!  (21 and over only). Click HERE to buy your tickets today!


Since 1999, the Highline Schools Foundation has been supporting innovation and excellence in Highline Public Schools. Our funding priorities focus on programs to improve academic achievement, supporting college and career readiness, grants to teachers for engaging classroom projects, the arts, athletics, and programs that keep students in school and productive. Highline is a district full of need and opportunity. The Highline Schools Foundation is the only non-profit organization dedicated to all schools in our district—our goal is to help as many students as possible be successful!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,